Colby AFC was founded in 1919 (although it didn't join the Isle of Man Football Association until 1920). The club currently plays at the Glen Road ground, situated close-by to the picturesque five acre site of Colby Glen.
The town of Colby lies approximately one and a half miles from the South West coast of the Isle of Man in the Parish of Arbory (where football has been played for well over 100 years). It has a population of around 2,000. The name 'Colby' is Scandinavian in origin and is derived from Kolli's Farm - home to the legendary lexicographer, Archibald Cregeen (1774-1841).
The club's crest was created in 1980 and designed by Mr. K. Clare. After changing colours four times from the club's inauguration in 1920, the current striped colours of black and white were adopted in 1948 and are incorporated in the crest.
The wavy lines above and below the name 'Colby' represent the River Colby which runs close-by. The crest is complemented with the club name and the famous 'Trie Cassyn' (three legs) which has represented the Isle of Man since the 13th century.
The club's nickname, 'The Moonlighters', originates from the days before Colby AFC joined the Isle of Man League. At this time the club's friendly fixtures often extended into dusk due to the work commitments of its players.
Thanks to Paul Heginbotham, Committee Member at Colby AFC, for the above crest and information.
Football Crests of Isle of Man - Peel AFC >>